Informational Bulletin Regarding Medi-Cal Requirement to Submit Fingerprints for
a Criminal Background Check

This bulletin amends the initial bulletin regarding Medi-Cal Requirements to
Submit Fingerprints for a Criminal Background check on September 11, 2015.

In accordance with 42 United States Code (USC), Section 1866(j)(2)(B)(ii)(I) and (II) of
the Social Security Act, 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 455.434,
published on February 2, 2011, in the Federal Register to implement the Patient
Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) of 2010, and Welfare and Institutions Code
(W&I Code), Section 14043.38, the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) is
required to screen applicants or providers according to their designated categorical risk
level.

Based upon the authority granted to the director of DHCS in the W&I Code, Section
14043.75(b), the director of DHCS hereby implements W&I Code, Section 14043.38,
which requires provider types designated as high categorical risk to submit fingerprints
for a criminal background check. The requirements and procedures set forth in this
bulletin have the full force and effect of law, and are effective October 11, 2014.

Establishment of Provider Categorical Risk Levels
Federal law requires State Medicaid Agencies (Medi-Cal in California) to establish
categorical risk levels for providers and provider categories who pose an increased
financial risk of fraud, waste or abuse to the Medicaid program. Federal law mandates
that Medi-Cal screen all initial applications, including applications for a new practice
location and any applications received in response to a re-enrollment or a revalidation of
enrollment request based on a categorical risk level of “Limited,” “Moderate” or “High.”
An applicant or provider is subject to the “High” risk level of screening if the provider
category is designated by DHCS as “High” risk. In addition, any applicant and any type
of provider can be subject to the “High” level screening if any of the following conditions
apply:

¢ DHCS imposed a payment suspension on the provider based on a credible

allegation of fraud, waste or abuse.

e The applicant or provider has an existing Medicaid overpayment based on fraud,
waste or abuse.

e The applicant or provider has been excluded by the Federal Office of the Inspector
General or another state’s Medicaid program within the previous 10 years.

e The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has in the previous six
months lifted a temporary moratorium for the particular provider type and that
provider would have been prevented from enrolling based on the moratorium.

(42 CFR 88§ 424.518, 455.434, and 455.450; W&I Code, Section 14043.38.)

Fingerprinting and Criminal Background Checks of “High” Risk Applicants and
Providers

State Medicaid Agencies are required to collect fingerprints and conduct criminal
background checks from applicants or providers screened at the “High” categorical risk
level. (42 CFR 88 424.518, 455.434, and 455.450.)



Effective January 1, 2013, California law requires that all Medi-Cal providers and
applicants categorized as “High” risk, and any person with a five percent or greater direct
or indirect ownership interest in a provider or applicant, must submit fingerprints for a
criminal background check in the form and manner determined by DHCS within 30 days
of the request. (W&l Code § 14043.38.) Effective January 1, 2015, W&I Code §
14043.38 was amended to subject the officers and executive director of a non-profit
Drug Medi-Cal provider or applicant to the same requirements. This bulletin implements
that statute.

Effective October 11, 2014, any time an application is submitted to DHCS by a
Medi-Cal provider or applicant categorized as “High” risk, that provider or
applicant must submit proof that fingerprints for all the required individuals have
been submitted to an authorized State Identification Bureau (Bureau of Criminal
Information and Analysis, Department of Justice [DOJ] in California). Providers and
applicants must attach a copy of a the Provider Enrollment Division (PED) prefilled DOJ
Request for Live Scan Service (BCIA 8016) form for each required individual with their
application, date stamped and showing verification that all fees have been paid by either
a “PAID” stamp from the public Live Scan operator or a receipt of payment.

In order to obtain the required fingerprints, the individuals required to be fingerprinted
must:

e Present the PED prefilled DOJ Request for Live Scan Service (BCIA 8016) form
to the Live Scan operator;

o Pay all applicable fees at the time of Live Scan including: Live Scan fee, DOJ
State criminal background check fee, and Federal Bureau of Investigations
criminal background check fee.

Note that the PED prefilled BCIA 8016 contains identifiers specific to DHCS. Using
any other version of the BCIA 8016 may result in DHCS not receiving the findings
and denial of your application.

DOJ only accepts the electronic submission of fingerprints from an authorized public
Live Scan operator. A list of the DOJ authorized public Live Scan sites can be found on
the Applicant Live Scan Fingerprint Services Locations and Hours of Operation page of
the DOJ website.

If an individual or applicant is located out of state and is not traveling to California for
Live Scan services, or does not have access to a Live Scan site, the individual or
applicant is required to be fingerprinted using hardcopy fingerprint cards and to complete
the PED prefilled Request for Exemption From Mandatory Electronic Fingerprint
Submission Requirement (CJIS 9004) form. In order for an application to be considered
complete, the individual or applicant required to be fingerprinted must:
¢ Email PEDCBCFORMREQUEST@dhcs.ca.gov prior to submitting an
application to request the hardcopy fingerprint card. DHCS will then mail out a
hardcopy fingerprint card.

e Take the hardcopy fingerprint card to a law enforcement agency within the
United States to have the prints rolled, and pay the applicable “rolling” fee by the
agency providing the service.
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e Fill out the PED prefilled CJIS 9004. The PED prefilled DOJ CJIS 9004 has the
“Basis for Exemption” pre-populated.

o Submit the hardcopy fingerprint card and PED prefilled CJIS 9004, with the
required processing fee of $49 made out to The California Department of
Justice with the application package, to DHCS for submission to DOJ and FBI.
Please be aware that the processing time required for hardcopy fingerprint
cards is substantially longer than with Live Scan fingerprinting. This will
delay the processing of the application.

If, during the initial review of an application for enrollment, it is determined that the
applicant or provider is required to be screened at the “High” categorical risk level and
the required proof of fingerprinting is not included with the application, DHCS will
consider the application incomplete and return it to the applicant to remediate all
deficiencies, including the submission of fingerprints for a state and federal criminal
background check.

The notice of deficiency will instruct the applicant or provider that they are required to
submit fingerprints and that they have 30 calendar days to submit their fingerprints for a
state and federal criminal background check or the application package will be denied. It
will also instruct them that they have 60 days to resubmit their application and identify
any missing or discrepant items that must be resubmitted with their application. The
applicant or provider must include a copy of the PED prefilled DOJ Request for Live
Scan Service (BCIA 8016) form for each individual identified in the deficiency letter and
submit verification that all fingerprinting fees have been paid by either a “PAID” stamp
from the Live Scan operator or a receipt of payment when they resubmit the application.

Fingerprint Rejections

The FBI may reject an applicant or provider fingerprint transaction for a number of
reasons. Upon receipt of the first rejection, PED will notify the applicant or provider and
provide a copy of the rejection notice, which specifically states the rejection reason. The
applicant or provider will be required to submit their fingerprints a second time. If the
fingerprints are rejected a second time for poor quality fingerprints, DHCS will request to
have an FBI name check performed, which will be submitted within 75 days of the date
of the initial rejection notice. No additional fees will be charged for the name check.

Failure to submit fingerprints for a criminal background check when required will
result in the denial of the application package. (42 CFR Code § 455.416; W&I Code
§ 14043.26[f][4][E].)

Provider Types Currently Designated as “High” Categorical Risk

Currently, the following provider types are designated as a “High” categorical risk:
prospective (newly enrolling) Home Health Agencies (HHA), prospective (newly
enrolling) Durable Medical Equipment (DME) suppliers, and newly certifying or newly
enrolling and revalidating Drug Medi-Cal Clinics (DMCs), with the exception of DMCs
operated by governmental entities. DHCS has the authority to designate other provider
types as “High” risk if it is determined that that they pose an increased risk for fraud,
waste, and abuse, or fall within the scope of the statutory “High” risk designation.

Please note that HHA providers are certified for Medi-Cal by the California Department
of Public Health (CDPH) and the fingerprinting and criminal background process defined
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in this provider bulletin does not apply to HHA providers. HHA providers should contact
CDPH regarding fingerprinting and criminal background check requirements.



